Introducing Garden Sham

So Gardening is my latest official hobby. I’ve had my fill of great hobbies and I intend on adopting more as my life progresses. I’ve enjoyed hiking and cycling. I still have to dive deeper into swimming.

So yes! Gardening. So on the 17th of February, 2016 I bought my first plants. I got myself a celery, a cinnamon basil, a culantro (chadon beni) and a curly-leaf parsley. Prior to that I maintained a counter-top spearmint plant. But finally I was ready to get the ball rolling. Following that, I have expanded my list of plants. I’ve had tasty lettuces and patchoi. I have a neem tree, tulsi and greek oregano. I’ve got a raised bed garden (a large plastic container) with tomatoes, melongene, thyme and pimento.

My uncle has also gotten head-over-heels involved with gardening too. My aunty has always grown a variety of flowers from Jacob’s coat (Croton), to Olive trees, Hibiscus amongst others. I also do my own composting to ensure we’ve also always got rich soil.

I buy potting mix from my nearby plant store and I mix it with my homemade compost as my planting material. I started off buying plant pots, then I moved to recycled bottles and containers. Lately we’ve started using construction buckets and drilling drainage holes. Most of my garden is a ‘container garden’. I transplant plants in the ground depending on how much space is needed for them to grow properly. I don’t have much ground space for planting so I’ve resorted to container gardening mostly out of necessity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beet Root

 

Garden Sham (58).JPG

Irish Potato

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Onion

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Garlic

 

There are some of my Aunty’s plants.

 

I am most proud of my broad leaf thyme! The rainy season has done it really well 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Broad-leaf Thyme

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chilli Pepper

I’ve also tried my hand at a chilli plant.

So far I’ve been having lots of fun with my gardening. I’ve encountered diseases and pests and I’ve tried to tackle them all organically. It’s an interesting journey and I look forward to hopefully having a homestead of my own one day.

Jeremiah 29:5 

Build ye houses, and dwell in them; and plant gardens, and eat the fruit of them;

 

2 thoughts on “Introducing Garden Sham

  1. Looks lovely! How’s the garden growing?

    Like

Leave a comment